Home Page

Minehead First School Making sure school matters to every child

MAT Information/Governance

We are proud to be part of Beacon Education. An exciting collaboration of 6 schools in West Somerset. Please see the Trust website for more information about the Trust and links to the other 5 schools in it. 


In 2022 we formed a Parent Community Group and an Academic Improvement Board responsible for monitoring standards (replacing the Local Governing Body).


Our Link Trustee is: Mrs Jill Ewen. 

Email contact:


Clerk to the board of trustee's: Mrs Barbara O'Keefe

Email contact:

Clerk to governors (PCG): Mrs Helen Hatfield


Information on governance can be found at;

AIB - Academic Improvement Board: 

Jo Reynolds - Clerk

Gemma Chapman - Head

Jill Ewen - Trustee

Jane Bellamy - Trustee

Amanda Giles - Trustee

Rob Lakin - CEO


The Parent Community Group: 


The Parent Community Group are a group of committed people across our community working to support Minehead First School to ensure that every child feels happy, safe and secure and receives the best education possible.


Our Parent Community Group are people who have an interest in our children’s future and a desire to make a difference. They give time, energy & enthusiasm. Together they work as a team and are happy to ask questions, listen & learn. We have high aspirations for all of our children and strive for our school to be outstanding in all that we do.


If you need any further information or wish to raise any issues please don’t hesitate to get in touch with us.

Parent Community Group 23-24

Gemma Chapman (Chair) Head of school​​
Julie O'DriscollParent Elected04/09/22 
Gaynor TaylorCommunity link ​​04/09/23resigned 01/11/23
Charlotte BeynonStaff Link​10/06/23 
Kayleigh Jury Parent Elected11/12/23 
Jill Ewen Link Trustee  





 31 October 20227 Feb 202327 June 2023
Gemma Chapman/Y- New Head of school. 
Jill EwenYYY
Julie O'DriscollYYY * virtually
Gaynor Taylor YYY
Charlotte Beynon //Y
Kayleigh Jury///


PCG Meeting Attendance 23-24



 11 December 202311 March 202425 June 2024 
Gemma Chapman - HeadYY  
Jill EwenYY  
Julie O'DriscollYY  
Gaynor Taylor YY  
Charlotte Beynon YY  
Kayleigh JuryYY  


Minutes of meetings held by the parent community group can be requested in the school office.